TSE will meet with the Electoral Transparency Commission and the Observatory

Facade of the TSE headquarters building. Credit: Marcelo Casal Jr. / Agência Brasil

The President of the Supreme Electoral Tribunal (TSE), Minister Edson Fachin, held a virtual meeting on June 20, at 3 p.m., of the members of the Electoral Transparency Commission (CTE) and the Electoral Transparency Observatory (OTE). The summons was ordered by the court. The two bodies were established by the Supreme Electoral Court to increase transparency and security at all stages of the preparation and conduct of elections.

Institutions, public bodies, IT professionals and civil society representatives are part of CTE, which actively participated in the TSE Action Plan for the 2022 elections, with measures to ensure maximum transparency of the electoral process.

The Observatory in turn consists of civil society entities, public and private organizations and institutions with outstanding performance in the fields of technology, human rights, democracy and political science, among others. Its role in cooperation with the CTE and TSE is to increase transparency at all stages of elections, and thus aims to increase public knowledge of the Brazilian voting system.

The creation of the two groups came amid hints from President Jair Bolsonaro and his supporters that Brazil’s electoral system is flawed. Despite raising skepticism and defending the printed vote, Bolsonaro has never provided evidence of fraud in the voting process.

The call for the joint meeting came after the Supreme Electoral Court responded to the questions and suggestions raised by the armed forces regarding the electoral process.

Last Monday, 2 OTE met by video link. On April 25, the first meeting of the Independent Electoral Commission was held under the direction of Minister Fachin, who called for the mobilization of all to advocate peaceful and secure elections.

Find out who the CTE members are

On the part of public institutions and bodies, the CTE is composed of Senators Elysian Gama and Katia Abreu; Representative Margaret Coelho; Minister Benjamin Zimmler of the Federal Court of Accounts (TCU). General Heber Garcia Portela, Commander of Cyber ​​Defense of the Armed Forces; Counsellor of the Brazilian Bar Association (OAB) Luciana Deniz Nepomuceno; forensic expert Paulo Cesar Hermann Waner of the Federal Police’s Computer Forensic Service; and Deputy Electoral Prosecutor, Paulo Gustavo Junit Branco, for the Electoral Prosecutor’s Office (MPE).

IT professionals and civil society representatives who are also part of the CTE are: André Luís de Medeiros Santos, Professor at the Federal University of Pernambuco (UFPE); Bruno de Carvalho Albertini, Professor at the University of São Paulo (USP); Roberto Alves Gallo Filho, Ph.D. from the State University of Campinas (UNICamp); Ana Carolina da Hora, researcher at the Center for Technology and Society at Fundação Getúlio Vargas Law School in Rio de Janeiro (FGV-DireitoRio); Ana Claudia Santano, General Coordinator of the Brazilian Electoral Transparency Organization; Fernanda Campaniucci, Executive Director, Open Knowledge Brazil; Luciana Vega, President of the Brazilian Association of Political Science (ABCP); Raquel Menegello, Brazilian Electoral Study (ESEB) Coordinator at Unicamp; and Gabriella Tarocco, from Electoral integrity project.

OTE . members

The observatory brings together, among others, Paulo Jerónimo de Sousa, of the Brazilian Press Association; Patricia Campos Melo of the Brazilian Association of Investigative Journalism. Vinicius Deniz Monteiro de Barros, National Federal Association of Public Defense Counsel; Harmot Richard Glaser of the Internet Steering Committee; Maria Paula Almada e Silva, National Institute of Science and Technology in Digital Democracy; Melillo Denis do Nascimento, of the Electoral Anti-Corruption Movement; Ana Claudia Santano, of Brazilian Electoral Transparency; and representatives of various political parties. (Check out the full list of OTE members).

Leave a Comment